RSS Feed

Crazy Days…

Posted on

I’m playing catch up… Because my book is in progress and I want this to be included.
So…
This is what has happened over the past weeks.
Life has been happening way fast and I am frankly dizzy, and tired and a little worn out tonight.
I feel like my eyes have sprung a leak and I’m hoping it will be fixed by morning.
Sometimes good sleep can fix the leakiest of hearts.
But right now I’m gonna think back to these moments that I don’t wont to forget.

Sophia has had a busy end to the school year. Including several field trips, one to a ballgame, that never happened, because of a thunderstorm. 😦 Daddy and her got some bonding time on the school bus at least. And then she played softball for the second year. She is mighty cute in her little pants and shirt but I will have to post a picture of that later. She also had her end of year dance recital. She will be going into 3rd grade next year! Slow down little one! I can’t let you grow too quickly!

A girl and her daddy. What's sweeter than that?

Sophie's dance school/2011

 

My sweet ballerina

Proud of our little princess

I love that little one!
Our Friends, Conrad and Leslie, from Alabama took the time to stop by for an overnighter. We loved having them and their family. What a sweet treat in June!

The Weber's

With the end of school Freshman turned into sophomore. And a very scary thing has happened. Most incidents of her passage make me cringe and hold my breath a bit…I am slow to participate in “what everyone else my age is doing”….I just think kids grow up so fast. But this one I can hold off no longer…She is officially allowed to drive. I feel most awful because usually by the time it happens I come around and I’m ready to celebrate the new thing…but this time I am just in total denial. I cannot tell you how cranked up my stomach is from this earth shattering event. Not that she can’t or won’t do a great job. She will do fabulous. It just rocks my world to have her driving me around.
I DO NOT FEEL THAT OLD!!
But here are a couple of other things she has been up to…
Summer Volleyball league.

And Starlights end of the year concerts.

I think my sophomore is beautiful inside and out! I feel blessed to be her mom!
My eyes are starting to water again…

But one look at these faces and I smile.
They are full of mischief, these two. I don’t know how in the world my mother in law raised 7 boys if they were anything like my two. Full of ornrie’s!

But these two also have brought tears of joy to my eyes in the past 6 weeks. Jalen won an award for showing sportsmanship and leadership on his tennis team. I was overjoyed for him!
And Micah had some very nice words from his teacher about his inclusion and compassion for some extra special kids in the class this year. I cannot tell you how those words ministered to this mama.
Both boys have made it through the year with wonderful report cards and character lessons. I feel fortunate to be growing up in the same house with them.

I love this kid!

I will miss Mr Micah and my chats in the van on the way to school. We had about 5-10 minutes every day just he and I. It was one of my most cherished times in the day. This year He is moving up to middle school. And once again… My tears fall. Transitions. All the time. I was not prepared for so many.
Baseball is the word on the street for these two. Jalen’s season has ended but Micah will be playing for another month or so.

And Jalen…
He will be 14 in just two short months!An 8th grader!What a young man! I love to hear him call “Good Morning” in his cheerful deep voice in the morning. I also love that he is very willing to kiss me and that even though he doesn’t toss around a compliment easily last week as we were riding alone in the van he looked at me and told me he thought I was pretty! Awhhh! He makes me melt like buttah when he talks like that!

I love this kid too!

And Father’s day came last week. Right after camp and before Bible School and Swim lessons.
I am grateful that these kids get to have a dad who loves them so much.


And me?
Well… I’m the taxi and the grocery retriever and chore giver and listening ear and hair advice giver, and dishes and laundry captain. I am exactly where I want to be. And although sometimes I’m grouchy and moody I am so thankful to be your mom! I count it an honor that I have been given such a task!

I think you guys are worth the tears.
And I think one day I will look back on these crazy days and I will wish for just one back.
I love you my Sweet ones!
I hope one day you will understand how much!

2 responses »

  1. Awww…I’m getting a little misty eyed now to read your heart. Transition is HARD! Your kids look so nice with their daddy on Father’s day. I’m impressed you got those boys to dress up 🙂 And wow! the Webers~what a cute family. I was struck with how much Mr. Weber looks like Jason and their littlest girl looks like Sophia! 🙂 Love you friend….You are a beautiful mom inside and out.

    Reply
  2. Love this Rose! You speak alot of the words that are in my heart! Trust me, time does not slow down! Love ya.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

