RSS Feed

Dressing for Battle

This week has been one of those weeks.


One of those weeks that I have been breaking out some clothes that were hanging in my closet. Some of those garments are kind of new and I’m trying them out. And then some of them are well-worn and I know exactly how to wear them and how they fit.
That’s right I’m speaking metaphorically.
I’m talking about dressing for spiritual battle.

 That enemy of ours is pretty clever, I’ll give him that. He knows he can’t have my soul since it’s already signed and sealed but he will try every stinkin trick to hold me in captivity.
I’m so on to him!
He comes at the most random times and hits me between the eyes with his lies. When I’m lying in bed. When I have just been in the presence of my Savior. When I’m in a crowd. Or alone.

He doesn’t care…He wants my mind  captive and my emotions out of control. He wants me trapped in paralyzing fear and tormented with “what ifs”  and  thoughts of regret. He likes it if I compare myself…because he knows I will never, ever think I’m good enough. And it will make me jealous of others and discontent with who I was created to be. 
I’m not completely surprised by this new onslaught because recently I have been saying yes to some very scary things that God is asking me to walk in. I feel underqualified and weak. I don’t think I can do it. And I question whether I will be able to accomplish the task. I feel much like Moses …ME? I am not the one you want. Aaron, Now He’s your guy!
And that dratted serpent knows me. He knows my vulnerabilities and he is vicious!
But you know what? I know his weak spots too!
I have been “putting on the belt of truth”. When he speaks his lies I tell him the truth of God’s word. Because I know what God says about me and it’s along the lines of love and redemption. It’s compassion and forgiveness. It’s blessing and honor.

He dances over us with singing, for goodness sake!!

And The Father Loves to see his kids living joyful, victorious, full lives. Just as we love to see our children succeed and live fully free!
And my shoes( How I love them shoes…love them!) need  to be prepared to walk in obedience. Not just knowing the Word but prepared in the Word.  I remember when Malaina was just a little thing she Loved to walk around in her daddy’s big shoes. That’s the picture I have,  slipping on my daddy’s shoes. Walking in the protection of his big shoes surrounding my frail feet. And then Living the thing out.
The breastplate of righteousness…To protect my heart from attacks. Believing that because of Jesus and his righteousness   I am forgiven and made righteous.

The sword of Faith…The temptations and trials that Satan throws at me must be met with Faith. I  believe there is an unseen army cheering me on. I  believe that my Savior sees if I have wielded the sword of Faith and shook the enemy to his knees.

And the helmet of Salvation…Protecting my mind from his slimy thoughts. Renewing it in the Word. Instant reaction when he starts his condemning and destructive thoughts… Adoration and Praise for the MOST High. Not always in song. Sometimes it’s speaking the Word out loud. Remember He can not read our thoughts. He just reads our actions and words.. It is ridiculous how fast he scuttles off to the corner!

He’s creative but we have been made MORE than Over comers!

He’s sly but we have been BOUGHT through the life-giving blood. 

And “He can’t touch this”. 

He is the defeated one.

We are not. 

And Finally Prayer. Praying for each other is key. He hates to see us bringing each other to Jesus.  Pray for strength to stand firm. For zeal to be bold. For endurance to run fast when we need to flee. And for the veil to be lifted where we have been blind. Praying for wisdom to know God’s plan and courage to follow it. Our Dad just loves when we ask these thing for each other and ourselves. 

Satan hates us!

But he really hates Jesus.

Remember Jesus kicked him in the teeth? Well he hasn’t forgotten that either.

 And he knows that his time is getting very short.

Ephesians 6 tells us to…13-18Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out. ~ The Message~

Remember this…When you press in deeper  he will get meaner. He does it every time. When we become a more formidable threat he gets very nervous….and obnoxiously mean. If we live in defeat he’s got us right where he wants us, but if we are serious about this walk we had better get those clothes on and then get ready.

How about it…. I got your back…you have mine.

 Together we can stand strong dressed for battle!

Leave a Reply

