RSS Feed

Why I Write?

I have always been drawn to words. Even as a tiny girl. When I look back at my diary I laugh as I see the important things I would jot down.  I wrote about the weather,boys,roller skating parties, my feelings,or friends I saw that day. It was all very deep.  

And when I turned 13 I started writing music. I will never forget that feeling the first time I wrote. I may not remember all the lyrics but I remember what prompted me. I had been looking through my dad’s subscription of News Week. There I saw a picture that moved me to an emotion that had to be dealt with. It was painted out right in front of my innocent adolescent wide eyes. The picture of a man with deep sunken eyes. He looked scruffy and void of hope. He was sitting on a curb holding a child. They were both dirty with messy hair. No shelter. No food. Nothing.  Growing up in a sheltered, television free home, I had never seen anything like it. And I was beyond appalled.

I wrote that first time because an emotion was evoked with in me. I knew if I didn’t write it down I would burst. It was a matter of necessity.

And so it is still. I write because something is stirred in me. Sometimes it’s out of conviction, or compulsion. Sometimes I write to record so I don’t forget. At times I write to bring laughter. I write when I’m happy and when I have tears burning my eyes and running off my fingertips down onto the keys. I write to heal and encourage.  And often I write not even knowing what all is going to come out of me. It’s a journey I take and when I’m finished I look back and touch up or add more. I read it out loud to make sure it’s what I wanted to say. Or I sing the lyric over and over until the children are begging me to write a new song.

I write because something in me is pleading to be released. A word is running around in my head and unless I set it free I will not rest. 
When I look back over my almost 40 years of life I can tell who I was by what was written down. I forget what it was like to be a child, a teen, a newly wed, a young mom, but when I reflect, I see the faithfulness Of God’s hand. I recall those days. I laugh. I cry. I ponder. I am grateful.
And then I write once again.
Someday I will look back reminding myself of 40. 

Why do you write?

I’m linking up with Anne VosKamp and Holley. Some of the most inspirational writers I have read! Make sure you visit them.

  • Advertisements

    5 responses »

    1. I love this! I love that you write and that you are willing to share. I am not a great writer~ I am just me. My heart sort-of wants to write, if that makes sense. I love to read and have always been a wordster. I really enjoy your blogs! *warm hugs*

      Reply
      • Dearest Peggy~a heart that writes~ to me,that’s really the essence of good writing. When it’s from the heart. Sometimes very eloquent writers lose me because I can’t relate. But people who just write from the heart grab me and pull me in. I’m glad you write too! Hugs back!

        Reply
    2. I write because it comes out much better than when I speak! I like the time I can take when writing, to be able to formulate exactly what I want to say. You don’t have that luxury when you speak! I also write because I am a very emotional person, and sometimes I just can’t say what I want to due to the overwhelming emotions. Rose, keep on writing!

      Reply
    3. thank you so much for your comment – that reminder on my mirror is so needed:).

      i love your reasons about why you write – mine are very similar, except for the song-writing…that’s where my husband excels:).

      loved my visit here – looking forward to reading more of your words.

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

