RSS Feed

Carmel love for you

One of my favorite Candies to make and eat every year is Carmel’s.

I love them with Chocolate.
I love them with Pecans.

And I love them Just straight up.

They are my candy of choice.

So today I will share them with you.

Here is the recipe.
1 c butter
2 1/4 c. brown sugar
dash of salt
1 c. light corn syrup
1-15 oz can condensed sweetened milk
1 tsp vanilla

Melt butter in 3 quart saucepan. Add sugar and salt, and stir thoroughly. Stir in corn syrup and mix well. Gradually add milk, stirring constantly. Cook and stir over medium heat to firm ball stage..245 on your candy thermometer. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Pour into buttered bar pan. Cool and cut into squares. Add Pecans and Chocolate if you want to make turtles.

Now all you need to do is leave a comment about your favorite holiday treat. This will enter you to win a box of Carmel’s! I will Open the give away today through Monday, December 27.

Don’t forget to come back Thursday.
I Will be a Guest blogger over on the Incourage Blog.

Thank you friends. It’s been so good getting to know you better in and out of Cyber Space.

14 responses »

  1. Oh, girl, you are speaking my love language. My favorites to take to holiday parties this year are brownies with fluffy peanut butter frosting and Eclair Cake Both are super-easy to make and come-home-with-an-empty-pan delish! You can find them on allrecipes.com. :)Your carmels look amazing!

    Reply
  2. Oh wow! Chocolate and peanut butter…big weakness! Thanks for entering Holly! Looks like you may win:)

    Reply
  3. Ooooo…. I'm gonna try for these! This year my favorite treat is something my mom made for the first time. Extra crunchy potato chips dipped in chocolate with sea salt sprinkled on top. Yum-O!

    Reply
  4. That Sounds AMAZING!! I will have to try that myself!! So glad you entered my give away!

    Reply
  5. Rose, My favorite holiday treat is your caramels. My 2nd best is peanut butter balls. Or chocolate covered pretzels, white trash, and Christmas cookies. 🙂 I like it all.

    Reply
  6. Caramels are my weakness, always have been! I like them with salted pecans and just a dab of chocolate. Another favorite is to put a puddle of caramel on a mini pretzel twist, then cover in Belgian chocolate, these suckers are amazing! Every year we also make dozens of pressed cookies with sprinkles and colored sugar, red hots, lotsa butter, they melt in your mouth.

    Reply
  7. I think I should win because Caramel is my favorite holiday treat too! However … at our house it is called Perry's Butterscotch after my beloved uncle, and I just pour it into a pie pan and we just cut pieces out as we go. It may be disgusting to some, but it is quite the family bonding experience to us. My kids look forward to the treat every year!

    Reply
  8. My favorite Christmas treat is one my mom made when we were growing up. We just called it Chow Mien Noodle Candy, but I'm sure there are other names for it. You melt butterscotch chips, mix in peanut butter, pour it over chow mien noodles and mini marshmallows. Voila! You have a strange but tasty treat. Stop in on your way to town, Rose, and you can try some. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Rose, I know I rarely post on your blog, but let me say, I am very often touched by what you have to say. Thank you.My favorite treat this year is homemade peppermint bark….so easy to make and yummy too. Your caramels look delicious by the way. :)Rosanna

    Reply
  10. Oh my goodness you girls are making me go into sugar shock!:) Heather tell me what white trash is…I don't think I've had that. Linda…Great Idea with the pretzel and carmel! I want to try that! Cindy excellent idea to let everyone cut their own..that cuts down on all the wrapping!Janel..I may have to just take you up on that:)!Rosanna..I LOVE white peppermint bark as well! So yummy! Thanks for entering…Good Luck~

    Reply
  11. So gracious of you to share your delectable recipes with us, friend!I will have to catch your special (in) courage post after the holiday — we are hitting the road tomorrow. But so pleased to know you will be there!I feel blessed to have met you in person, Rose. Joy and peace to you and yours this Christmas. Love,Michelle

    Reply
  12. Oh my, just one favorite? I have so many! Some of my favorites are candycane snowballs, Moravian cutouts, and peppermint bark. That caramel is looking good!!

    Reply
  13. Those look tasty! I'm definitely going to have to try out your recipe. (Just as soon as I get my coupon for a free bottle of Karo Syrup. 🙂 )My favorite Christmas sweet is fudge. My husband and I ordered some peppermint syrup from Starbucks this month and I used it in a batch of fudge. Mmmmmm, was it good!I also love truffles. And toffee. And Russian teacakes. And pizzelles. And pretty much all of it, especially if it involves chocolate. :)honeyandcheese{at}gmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

