RSS Feed

Old time Favorite Brown Sugar Cookies

When I was a little girl there were two ladies at our church that were in my childlike mind the essence of what a good cook should look like. They were both a little portly and let me tell you that ANY thing they would bring to potlucks would taste like it came from heaven!

And if we got so lucky to be invited to their home it was like a feast in the palace! No hamburger helper or boxed mac and cheese would have been allowed in their kitchen!

So when my grandma passed away over 10 years ago…I got her old falling apart, hand jotted recipes, church cookbook. It’s my prized cookbook! And instead of marking the recipes that I like with my normal star or “good” comment I just put a little heart beside the name of my beloved childhood fantasy baker. Who is now living with my grandma and Jesus. I’m sure they are preparing great feasts for the Kings birthday party!

So when I found her yummy cookies in here I instantly fell hard!
And today I am going to share them with you!

Without further ado

BROWN SUGAR COOKIES
2 C. Brown Sugar 1 c. rich milk(cream or sweetened condensed)
1 C. Shortening 1/2 t. salt
1 Egg 1 tsp. vanilla
2 t. soda 3 1/2 C. Flour
2 t. baking powder
Cream sugar and shortening, add remaining ingredients. Mix well and drop on cookie sheet. Bake at 425 for 8-10 minutes.
Frost with brown sugar frosting
1 stick butter
1 C. brown sugar
2 1/2 C Powder sugar
Mix and add 1/2 cup milk
Cool the cookies and frost.
It’s just a early little Christmas gift from me!
Don’t forget to come back next week for my giveaway!

2 responses »

  1. Those look luscious! There's nothing like a sugar cookie and a warm cup of coffee. These may be in the cards for me today…I plan to do a little baking. Thanks for sharing your treasured recipe.

    Reply
  2. I shall make these tomorrow, you had me at brown sugar. 🙂 🙂 ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

