RSS Feed

I got questions…

I have found one of the best times to talk turkey with my kids is while we are driving.
Not as in Thanksgiving Turkey or The country… but topics that can range anywhere from biting nails, to playground character, upcoming events, friend issues, hair style, Faith questions, or other delicate matters.

My younger son is one of the most expressive young boys you may meet. He is a compassionate soul that thinks deep thoughts and often has a quick response to any question posed to him.
He often cracks me up without trying to do so.

I like it!

Several weeks ago I got brave and asked him a couple of questions….
“tell me one thing I do well….and one thing you would like to see me improve on”.

He thought for only a second and said, “well I like that you admit when your wrong and ask me to forgive you….but the second one, I’ll need to get back with you on that…”
It took him only another minute.
“Well, I hate to say this but sometimes when you get tired you can be grumpy”.
Me…”yes, I’m sorry for that. I will try to do better”.
He…”but don’t worry about it, it’s not often”.
I love that he was trying to protect his Mommy’s feelings.

I like to ask them questions to stay engaged.
Sometimes I just don’t know what to ask…
Do you ever feel that way?

I ran across this list of questions and thought I needed to copy it down, so that in my spare minutes, on the way to school,or the store, or before bed, I can shoot a new question to them.

Here they are…

23 Great Questions to Ask Your Children

By Sharon Jaynes

1. What do you think heaven looks like?

2. What does Dad do at work?

3. Who is a person you know that seems the most Christ-like?

4. What do you think your wife (husband) will be like?

5. If you were going to spend one year on a desert island and could only take three things with you, what would they be?

6. Who is your favorite aunt or uncle and why do you like him or her so much?

7. What sounds and smells do you think Joseph and Mary experienced in the stable on Christmas night?

8. What is the nicest thing I ever did for you?

9. When is a time that I hurt your feelings?

10. When is a time that you were really mad at me?

11. If people followed the Golden Rule, think of all the things we wouldn’t need. Can you make a list?

12. If you could be in a movie that you’ve already seen, which one would it be? Would you be a character that is already in the movie, or would you be one that you would add?

13. How is love different for a Christian couple than it is in the movies?

14. What is the difference between being smart and being wise?

15. What is your favorite outfit?

16. What is the hardest part about being (fill in your child’s age)?

17. What has been your favorite childhood memory?

18. When you pray, how do you picture God?

19. What is your favorite Bible verse? Why do you like it?

20. If you could be an animal for a day, which one would you be?

21. If you could go in a time machine, what era in history would you like to visit?

22. What person in history would you like to visit?

23. What is the most important decision you will ever make?

© Revive Our Hearts. Sharon Jaynes. Used with permission by Moody Publishers

I think I might try a couple of these this week.
I may get some pretty colorful answers.
And better yet, I will connect with them, getting inside thier noggin for just a minute.

Do you have some good questions you ask your kids?

5 responses »

  1. my kids and I talk about anything, I guess. and because of the different ages, depends on what we talk about. funny,serious,downright goofy,what-if stuff,friends-and all that goes with that, especially the girl-stuff,peer stuff,we talk about heaven,deep questions that most of the time there really isnt much of an answer too, we like to boggle our minds I guess.:) basically just anything!!! I love chatting and hanging out with my kids! we do it often!:) Tammy

    Reply
  2. you are seriously such an AWESOME mom…especially since you can admit to your kids when you make a mistake. That takes gutts and they will be so much healthier for it. My poor fellas hear me say "sorry" more than I'd like to admit. But, it's all a journey and thank the Lord we aren't perfect.I LOVE this list. What fantastic questions. I'll be using them for sure.

    Reply
  3. Well I got these questions printing as I type. Good thought provoking questions Rose. I love one on one with my kids…but I always wish I had more to say than "how was school" These are some great conversation starters. I love Micah's response to your question. 🙂 🙂 You are a good mother.

    Reply
  4. Love this! Did you ask permission via email? I would love to post this on my blog as well. I cried reading Micah's response, b/c he and my John David definitely have kindred spirits! So tender and sweet. Thanks for letting me know you stopped by today. I am following now so I can spend my merry time reading your blog. I immediately felt such a sweet connection to so many of your posts. My heart must be in need of something…I teared up as soon as the music started!! Merry Christmas from Arkansas!Amanda

    Reply
  5. PS…at dinnertime, we often do "High/Low" and each person tells the "high" point of their day, and the "low" point of their day. You get alot of info from this and can really hear what energizes them, what hurts them, what frustrates them, etc…great tool to know our kids well.Amanda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

