RSS Feed

Fear Factor

2 Timothy 1:7 (Amplified Bible)
7For God did not give us a spirit of timidity (of cowardice, of craven and cringing and fawning fear), but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of calm and well-balanced mind and discipline and self-control.



Fear is a nasty creature.

It creeps up like a thief, robbing us of peace and joy.

Sometimes it comes out of the blue in the middle of a sunny day.

And sometimes it comes when you are dreading an upcoming appointment or event.

But mostly, it comes to me in the night, when I wake in that cold sweat with a pounding heart and racing mind. It likes to whisper ugly things in my ear… It laughs at me as I skip the rest of my sleep.

It tells me things are going to turn out horribly wrong and that I am a failure as a wife and mom.

It tells me that I have no friends.

It makes me question if I will always be enough for my husband.

It smirks at me as it suggests the spot on my back may be something to get alarmed about or that my child may end up troubled.
It taunts me saying.. what if work doesn’t pick up and perhaps one day you may be without food for the table or shelter for your family? Sometimes it takes my mind down the path of death and the sorrow of planning a funeral.

It is not my friend.

But Sometimes I listen to it.

I hate it when I do. My stomach knots up and I feel miserable as I process the messages.

And then I realize that I have fallen prey to the enemy.

Because these negative thoughts take up my thinking space and rob me of a life of joy and peace and contentment.

The thing is…
God says his mercies are new EVERY day.

And

When I fear tomorrow’s trouble I am not living under today’s grace.

That unkind enemy seeks my sanity. And I can only combat him with one thing.

Only through the power of the Spirit and the transformed thinking he brings can we overcome the nasty trickery and lies.

To counteract the onslaught we must choose to turn off the messages and replace it with the truth.

We must choose to invest our time filling our thoughts with messages of life and blessing, of hope and healing, Grace and Peace, life and provision.

Remembering that God has been faithful through the ages and He will not be taking a break from his faithful job anytime, ever.

Romans 8:38-39 (New International Version)
38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

It comes down to this for me…

Is he worth my trust?

While I say yes, if I choose to dwell in the realm of fear, I am actually telling him no.

So maybe..

We can live in the grace that he provides for today, And let tomorrow take care of itself.

Maybe..

We can fully give ourselves into his keeping.

Because

It’s the only way to live a life fully uninhibited and free.

One response »

  1. Rose, You are an amazing woman! A sincere woman of God! When I grow up I wana be just like you…Fear is such an ugly thing…thanks for the wonderful insight you've given!Blessings to you…Kathryn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

