RSS Feed

A time to Worship?

I have led the music in church for years which we often reference as the “worship time”.

This tends to be an area where Christians judge one another.
Identifying a congregation’s spiritual temperature by what types of songs are sung and how long they do it.
Is it a Charismatic church or do they sing 3 hymns and sit down?

There are lots of different ways to do the music. And many people have lots of ideas how to do the music.

I have certain preferences myself.

As a leader, I remember at one time in my life it was somewhat frustrating to think of trying to please everyone… so they would like me.

About 5 years ago I attended a 5 day conference on worship leading, writing music, and vocal training.
It was a huge time of growth for me.

The thing I took away from that Conference was this…

You need to love the people you lead.

It changed everything for me.

The reason it was so transforming was because my thoughts changed from what will make people like me
to
how can I show love to this group of individuals as a vessel for Christ.

It changed my view of planning a service.

It no longer was about my favorites

but partnering with God and asking…

what will move this group into the presence of Jesus?

Now lots of other things go into planning a service like themes, and flow, sound, visual, and practice.

But the heart of the matter is that no matter where we minister
our first thought should always be

How can I show love to the people I minister to?

Jesus has something to say about our worship to him.
It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God. Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth. That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship. God is sheer being itself—Spirit. Those who worship him must do it out of their very being, their spirits, their true selves, in adoration.” John 4.

Often people will say since they aren’t always Saints they would just be acting fraudulent if they pretend to be worshiping.

So they rarely bring up the subject of God, Don’t pray, and Don’t have any emotion when they speak or sing of him.

I can appreciate realness.

So maybe we need to address the reason they feel distant, instead of dismissing the need to adore him.

We must confess living life without full disclosure and lacking integrity or anything else that keeps us from Him.

It doesn’t mean we need to wait until we are perfect in order to worship,

It means we need to continuously be in his presence so he can keep changing us.

And as he changes us we will want to fall at his feet in thanksgiving for his mercy on us.

Out of that we will start to love others as he does.

And when we love others with a sincere love
it is an act of worship back to him.

Whether in our singing or praying.
In our work or play.
In our ministries we are called to…
Do we love others?
Are we walking in integrity/honesty?
Do we live a life that points to Jesus?
Do we ADORE him?

I don’t think that we can really have just a “time” to worship.
We don’t turn it on and shut if off again in ½ hour or 45 minutes.

Singing him celebrations in a service Should be an outpouring of a life of worship.
And maybe we could give each other a little more grace for the different styles of songs we sing and how they are sung.

What he seeks most is a heart
That
Longs to worship him
Everyday
With
Every Part
of our Lives.

3 responses »

  1. Thank you so very much for the reminder! I needed this. -Suzanne

    Reply
  2. I needed this, too. I always walk away with something to think about when I read what you write. The essence of Christ comes forth in your writing. Thank you.Dee

    Reply
  3. Love your insights here, Rose. Turning your focus around — from me to them — is a simple but powerful experience. Thanks for giving me such a rich definition of worship and song.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

