RSS Feed

It’s a new day

When was the last time you wanted to clean up a mess?

or

Do something so risky that it might cost you everything?

Some personalities are more given to adventure and mess and the unknown
while others are quite comfortable with the familiar unchanging routine of the day.

I fall somewhere in the middle.
I love change…

Sometimes.

Especially when I’m leaving winter.

But

I don’t really ever care for mess.

I like things “in order” and predictable when it comes time for relationships and my dwelling place.
It smells better. And I feel like everything is “right with the world”.
It’s security for me.

But God…

Likes to come in and change the furniture around every so often. Not the way I like to change it up but sometimes he comes in and takes my bed and strips it down, removing my 2 big fluffy, down, comforters. He takes that bed from the upstairs room and moves it down to the basement. It’s not because he’s mean or playing tricks on me. It’s not for aesthetic reasons. And I certainly know it doesn’t smell better down there!

It’s to move me.

Because he knows my propensity to stay in the same familiar place.
Under that big comforter that brings me comfort.
It’s warm.
It’s non threatening.
But if I stay under it too long I will suffocate.

And he knows that.

He, in all his wisdom, calls us out of our comforts
and when he does that
we can be assured that
it’s for a higher purpose.

For a greater call.

For a new day.

I have a lot more to tell you, things you never knew existed. This isn’t a variation on the same old thing. This is new, brand-new, something you’d never guess or dream up. When you hear this you won’t be able to say, ‘I knew that all along.’ You’ve never been good listeners to me. You have a history of ignoring me, A sorry track record of fickle attachments— rebels from the womb. But out of the sheer goodness of my heart, because of who I am, I keep a tight rein on my anger and hold my temper. I don’t wash my hands of you. Do you see what I’ve done? I’ve refined you, but not without fire. I’ve tested you like silver in the furnace of affliction. Out of myself, simply because of who I am, I do what I do. I have my reputation to keep up. I’m not playing second fiddle to either gods or people.
Isaiah 48:1-3 Message

He is bringing something new

because

that’s what he does to keep his people close to his heart.

I ran across this poem today….

Disturb us, Lord, when
We are too well pleased with ourselves,
When our dreams have come true
Because we have dreamed too little,
When we arrived safely
Because we sailed too close to the shore.

Disturb us, Lord, when
With the abundance of things we possess
We have lost our thirst
For the waters of life;
Having fallen in love with life,
We have ceased to dream of eternity
And in our efforts to build a new earth,
We have allowed our vision
Of the new Heaven to dim.

Disturb us, Lord, to dare more boldly,
To venture on wider seas
Where storms will show your mastery;
Where losing sight of land,
We shall find the stars.
We ask You to push back
The horizons of our hopes;
And to push into the future
In strength, courage, hope, and love.

~Sir Francis Drake ~

It’s a scary bumpy ride..
but
I know who is driving this ship.

And the lights from the shore seem further and further away each day as we go deeper out to sea.

And I realize more and more that I don’t really need that comforter on my bed as much as I used to because he is

“The Great Comforter”.

He likes to come clean up messes, especially his people who look messy.
So maybe I should too.

He risked everything to show me his love so what is it that I need to risk?

What is it that he’s asking you to risk?

Do you have an old blanket that you just can’t crawl out from underneath?

Do you think maybe this could be a new day for you?


I have this feeling in my gut….
that when he gets me out to the middle of the sea
he’s gonna look at me and say…
Now…
“Get out of the boat”.

But that’s another post.

3 responses »

  1. That is a great verse! Our family is in a time of transition right now and it's scary and exhilarating to trust Him for what's ahead. I love that idea of a new thing! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  2. great thoughts Rose! We can relate somewhat to the "transition" feeling….I fall into the middle too I think, mostly, …New things can SCARE me, but EXCITE me just as well..and sometimes you just CANT WAIT for the changes that you know are beginning to take place! That is us right now!:) May you continue to trust God as He leads and guides…and just JUMP sister!!! 😉

    Reply
  3. I am most definitely in the "quite comfortable with the familiar unchanging" camp. My husband is constantly trying to push me out of it a little, he's a good balance for me! 🙂 Very inspiring post today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

