RSS Feed

Biscuts and Muffins

Posted on

Today was a baking day….

I’m like a squirrel on days like today. Storing away goodies.

I wanted to make good biscuits so bad~

So for years I was looking for just the right recipe that would make KFC green.

I don’t know that this one is award winning but it has sure been a hit in my kitchen.

I thought I would share these recipes with you.

Biscuits:

2C. flour

4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

2 tsp. sugar

1/2 C. shortening

2/3 C. Milk

Mix dry ingredients. Cut in shortening until it looks like small peas. Add milk.
Knead and roll out 1/2 inch thick. Cut out biscuits. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake at 450 for 10-12 minutes.

And Then I had some “brownish” bananas which means its time for banana bread…

Except sometimes I make them into muffins….
And you know what I like to say…we call it muffins so we can eat cake for breakfast:)

This is a yummy bread recipe that I got when I lived in Louisville.

1 C butter softened
3 C sugar
4 eggs
1/4 C. buttermilk (or yogurt or sour cream)
6 mashed bananas (or however many you have on hand:)
2 tsp. vanilla
3 C Flour
1 1/2 tsp. soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 C. chopped pecans(or not)

Cream butter sugar and eggs. Sift flour soda and salt. Add dry ingredients, vanilla, buttermilk, and banana’s.Fold in nuts bake at 325 in two greased and floured 9×5 loaf pans for about 1 1/2 hour. Or bake in muffin tins at 350 for 25 minute.

Enjoy your weekend!

One response »

  1. Wow, those look delish!! I must try this! Thanks for sharing! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

