RSS Feed

Wearing purple

Posted on

Have you ever had one of those moments?

You know, A time when you felt like everyone had decided to wear black but forgot to tell you

and you showed up in purple?

One of those times when you just knew you were the only one on the “outside”.

That day when you felt like a stranger in a room full of people you know well.

Maybe it’s just me.

Or….

Maybe not.

Because actually the wearing purple example was given to me by a very insightful child.
And I could only stand there and say…

Oh yes! Oh yes!
I could identify with that.

And unfortunatly I’m afraid I have to admit I have sometimes been in the black group and forgot to look for the person in purple!

Why is that? Why do we do that to one another?
I believe it is often done without malice but it doesn’t help with the awkwardness of being the outsider.

I have been reading and praying out of Beth Moore’s “praying God’s Word”.
I use this particular book when I am praying for specific break through’s.
The power of prayer and God’s word together is like Dynamite (As Beth writes)

God has drawn me to this verse in particular….
Lord, according to Your Word, love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never Fails. Icor 13:4-8
Father, I acknowledge to you that I don’t begin to possess this kind of love on my own. The only way I can experience and express love like this is to surrender my heart to love the unlovely….

What more can I say?

His Word once again…

Piercing my heart dividing between bone and morrow.

God may you fill me today with the kind of love that can only come from you!

5 responses »

  1. A friend sent me that book for the chapter of grief.For several months, I have been the one in purple.

    Reply
  2. I've been there too Rose. I love Beth Moore!!! I should get that book! Praying for you sweet friend.

    Reply
  3. Love this post Rose! What a great reminder to us all. LOVE Beth Moore. Bless you for sharing this with us. Hugs!

    Reply
  4. DEFINITELY have been the one wearing "purple"…and whats even sadder is when it feels like I was purposefully made to feel like I was the outsider….but thats when it reminds me to NEVER treat others that way. its not fun to "hurt"…..Tammy

    Reply
  5. so sorry my friend!! You know I love you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

