RSS Feed

Thankful anyway

Posted on

One of my favorite chapters of worship in the whole Bible is found in Acts 16.

Paul and Silas were traveling through a town. A slave girl with an evil spirit kept following them and shouting “these are servants of the most High God.” She followed them for days repeating it.
Finally, Paul was so over it….He turned to her and said “In the name of Jesus I command you to come out of her!” And at that moment the spirit left.

Well this really ticked off her owners who were using her to make money. So they and the crowd with them attacked Paul and Silas. It says they were stripped and beaten. And after they had been SEVERELY flogged, the were thrown into prison.

At about midnight (after a vigorous beating) These two men started praying and singing, while the others listened to them. Suddenly there was a tremendous earthquake that shook the foundations of the prison. At once the doors flew open and every one’s chains came loose! When the jailer woke up, he decided to take his own life because he thought everyone had escaped but Paul said “Don’t do that, we are all here”.
And instantly the jailer was asking what he needs to do to be saved.
Paul said” believe on the Lord Jesus”.
That night the Jailer’s whole family called on the name of the Lord and were saved.

How very cool! These guys did it right.

To contrast if they would have been going through the thing with a defeated spirit and negative outlook how ineffective they would have been to their onlookers. How they would have harmed the name of Christ.

Let’s face it,

I have NEVER been seriously beaten. I have never been jailed. I have never been attacked by a crowd. Yet how cowardly of me to feel like I can’t face another day because

My feelings have been hurt.

Because my child was treated unfairly.

Things seem out of control.

Life is hard.

Because my life is not going the way I planned…etc..etc…

I will praise you even when…

I will lift my voice in spite of…

I will offer my life for the one who gave his everything to show me his great love.

I wrote this song several years ago straight from this passage….

This pain I have, burns so deep,
It’s hard to move, or even speak,
But when I think of your love,
Or how you’ve called me chosen one.

Then I lift my hands, To honor you
To give you thanks for all you do.
And when my voice can’t sing the words
Still I will show you my gratitude.

When I am only looking down,
It’s hard to see, anyone but me.
But when I look up, and look around
I see faces of lost ones being found.

Then I lift my hands to honor you
to give you thanks for all you do.
And when my voice can’t sing the words
still I will show you my gratitude.

If I wait till all my troubles go away,
then I will never see,
What the Power of praise
Will change in me.

Father today I chose to praise you in the middle of the pain….for you are worthy….

-for a house that needs to be cleaned

– grass that needs to be cut

– a child that is currently grounded

-for relationships that need repair

-fingers, that need manicuring

-my nephew who is once more in the hospital

-food that needs to be prepared

-a smelly dog

-flowers that are losing their petals

You are the one I Worship today. I am so thankful you walked where I walked. You know it’s hard to be us.

You are….

The healer of hearts,

The one who gives much grace,

The lover of my soul,

The refuge I find rest in,

The strong tower where I run,

The lifter of my head,

And I am so very, very grateful!

One response »

  1. You give me tears dear dear friend. Don't we all find ourselves here in this place? thanks for being the silver lining. Thanks for sharing your heart. You are so special, so many talents. I love your song, You should record it and have it playing on your player on your blog. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

