RSS Feed

The girls night

Posted on

I have the honor and very significant privilege of raising these 2 young ladies.
These two are quite different but I am amazed at how they get along.
Malaina was 7 when Sophia came along and yet Malaina was thrilled to have another girl enter our family. She has always been so nurturing to her little sis making sure she’s okay.
Malaina came out talking in sentences~well almost. She has an amazing mind that thinks in tremendously deep patterns. She could memorize large segments of stories from her bedtime tapes and repeat them word for word, along with expression.
By the time she was 4 she was begging me to “teach her to read”. And when she started reading she never stopped. She has a very “grown up” way about her, mostly trying to be rational when things don’t work out in a particular hoped way.
And then little Sophie came along….The little one, Sweet as cotton candy yet can be spunky especially when she feels like something is “unfair”..She is social, social, social, and she’s not picky who with. As long as she has someone to play with she is happy. Time is her love language and we have played more games with that little girl! She loves with her whole heart!
She is sunshine on a cloudy day!

So we got to have a little “girls night” this weekend….you know, chips salsa, cokes,shopping and talking…lots of talking.

It’s so fun to see how Malaina is maturing into this young woman.

I love her perspective.


I get so emotional when I think of these days being behind me.
I try not to think of Malaina getting her permit this summer~
Or that she announced to her friends in class today that I was weird. (actually that her WHOLE family was weird) HA!
I think it’s probably something every mom has to face. I keep telling myself it’s normal and natural.

I got that little one who still begs me to come eat lunch with her at school.
Who still thinks I know what I’m talking about.
And who still wants me to pick out her clothes..most days.

Mostly I just want these beauties to know that they are priceless! That they don’t have to perform in order to have value. They don’t need to be the prettiest, skinniest, smartest, funniest, richest, coolest…..
I want them to know and believe that they can be anything He asks them to be.

That’s what he want’s all of his little girls to realize.
We have value not because of our goodness but because of His.
Not because of our gifts but that he is the giver of those gifts. He wants us to recognize those gifts as his favor on us.
We are precious in his sight.
Believe that today~It is his truth!

2 responses »

  1. Awww Rose, what a sweet post. It was like you were talking about Isabella when you were writing about Malayna. Isabella was the same way, memorizing entire paragraphs of bible stories off of her room time tape, begging to read. It's pretty fun to have a self taught little girl~isn't it? And gesh…same same when it came to Isabella getting a sister. How did we plan our families the same? NOPE! God did…so I could learn from you. Looks like a really fun night. I can glean so much from you. Love you and your ideas and the tender way you love your children.

    Reply
  2. Rose, your girls are so blessed to have you for their mother. I am certain they will rise up and call you "blessed"

    Reply

Leave a Reply

