RSS Feed

Glimpses from the big boat

Well the day finally arrived and so….

One week ago we headed out into the Atlantic to experience the wonder of the sea.

This was a cruise sponsored by Inspiration Cruises with David Jeremiah and his special guests on board.

These guys were an absolute hoot! This was “Dan and Jan” our ship attendants.

They liked to call him Dr. Jerry Myers…HA! We loved them!

This is David and Lynda Pendleton. David is a very talented ventriloquist and was on board for the week. We got to know them and I love their warm sweet hearts! They are from Indiana too…. David often performs at the Blue Gate so if you ever get the opportunity to see his act make sure you take it!

This is the view back at Ft Lauder dale as we headed off.

The week started off a little rocky with a couple people sick from the rockin ship. Mostly just the first night. But when we threw Jonah over the water became calm…..
Well, really it was more like, when the patches started kicking in the ones among us with queasy stomachs seemed to feel like eating again.
Did I say eating?
Because really, I think I ate my quota for the year! And it’s only January 9!

I could NOT believe how much I could consume…Could Not believe it!
Here we are for one of the formal nights….These were special nights where we dressed up….and once again went to dinner.

We had dinner every night at 8:00. And you know what…
Something a little special happened.

My 38th birthday happened to be yesterday and we got to spend it on a private island in the Bahamas!!
And I went snorkeling for the first time… Which meant I got a lot of salt water up my nose and saw about 7 beautiful fish. Let’s just say it wasn’t the best of times.

It didn’t help that the lady from the boat kept yelling out to me…

“Just pretend your in a pool with waves”.

Really?

That’s all you got for me?

How about giving me advice on how Not to drink this salt water….Seriously, my ankles were starting to swell!

But I am glad for the experience.

I’m all about having the experience!
Isn’t that beautiful! This is the water we jumped into…. I was trying to calmly put my head into this frigid water and trust that I wouldn’t be swept off with the waves, and hoping the little life vest would keep me a float, when I realized that my breathing patterns were very rapid!
I kept telling myself to relax…just relax for goodness sake.
I couldn’t ….so I started swimming toward the boat ….
and the closer I got to the boat the more I found myself calming down.
Close to the boat where I knew I would be safe. It hit me there in the water that this could be applied to my spiritual walk. When I am close to My Jesus I instantly feel a security that I can not find out by myself.
Staying close to the boat…..

Meanwhile…It was great to climb back into the boat after 40 minutes of my salty bath.

And when I got back to my room our steward, who was exceptionally helpful had this waiting for me.

Take a closer look….
Isn’t that Excellent! What a talent!
When he would see us in the halls he was so wanting to help with anything he could do….
“I get your door Ms. Rose. Could I get you more Ice? Can I do anything else for you?”
Love that! Ha!
I plan to post more pictures as I get time.
What a wonderful, wonderful time!
And my family?
They rock!
What a riot we had together!
3 responses »

  1. Oh Rose. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time! The pictures are gorgeous (as well as the hot 38 year old in a few of them – wink). You have definitely got me longing for warmer days!

    Reply
  2. Oh those water pictures are awesome!!! So glad you 2 got to go. Your night out you 2 look hot! I mean HOT!! When I was 13 a family friend sent our family on a cruise to the Bahamas and I tried snorkeling~ Yep! Had the same experience you did. Not so fond of it. Cool pictures can't wait to see more!!!!

    Reply
  3. Thanks Rose for sharing about you wonderful trip with your parents! So glad you all could do this together :)I have to tell you I sat at the computer and just belly laughed about your expeeince snorkling…how your instructer was so helpful 🙂 I'm still laughing as I write. Hope it's better next time you have the opportunity!Cheryl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

