RSS Feed

Can I trust you?

Do you wanna know what’s hard for me to do?

It’s this word that continually seems to haunt me….

TRUST….

I think I have probably always struggled with it.

I am not a blind follower.

I like to know why I do what I do.

Give me an answer that I can understand and agree with and I will be a supporter.

My poor parents had to deal with that when I was a kid. Don’t just tell me “cause I said so”.

Let me know why I am supposed to do what I do.

When Micah was just 4 I realized he was a bit like me in this area.

We were having a conversation about a subject he was just too young to understand.

He was asking the “why” questions and I was trying to answer as best as I could.

Finally I realized he was becoming more confused and more frustrated. I simply said, “Micah, this is one of those times you will just have to trust me on this”.

He really didn’t appreciate that at all so he responded, “I just don’t think I can”.

Really?

It was so clear to me that what I was saying to him was truth and he just couldn’t comprehend it yet. Why wouldn’t he trust me?

And then it came..

The A-ha moment for me.

He had just said what I have often thought in my head.

“God I just don’t think I can trust you with this situation.”

“Do you really know what you’re doing ?”

“Can I trust that your gonna help me out here?”

“I need answers”.

Micah was just brave enough to voice it.

And my God who is “all knowing”, “all seeing”, “everywhere”,”only good”,

has to look at me and say,

“Really Rose, you don’t get it all, this is over your head, but I got it covered”.

I am humbled by this imagery of him.

He is Large and In Charge!

You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.

Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord is the Rock eternal. Is 26:3

6 responses »

  1. i found you thru heather’s spot. and this post was just what i needed today. isaiah 26:3 has been a verse on my heart for a couple years now…LOVE it. so what a fantastic reminder today that it’s okay to voice my lack of trust and He can handle it!

    Reply
  2. I love this post. “this is over your head.” I forget that part a lot. And thinking of it through a parenting perspective will stay with me. Thank you 🙂

    Reply
  3. thanks Rose, just what I needed to hear today! So there with ya!I like to “fix” things, and when I can’t…it’s a struggle to let go.

    Reply
  4. Amen & Amen…I have experienced so many moments like this where I would finally get Spiritual truths from happenings with my children! Out of the mouth of babes…So glad your "sadness is over!!" HUGS!

    Reply
  5. Wow Rose – I guess the Lord knew I needed to visit your blog today because He sent me here to read exactly what I needed. He is in control and I’m so grateful. Thanks for sharing your words and thanks so much for your kind post regarding my friends passing. I truly appreciate your kindness. Blessings, Cathy

    Reply
  6. You are the winner of "The Love Dare" by Stephen Kendrick!!! If you could shoot me a quick e-mail (ateachableheart@gmail.com)with your mailing address I will get it out to you ASAP. I pray that it will be an amazing tool to bring your marriage to fullness in Christ!Blessings & Peace,Shanda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

