RSS Feed

Beware of Bulgy Cans

Have you ever seen what can happen to a can of coke when it’s frozen and than thaws?????

If you’re one of those people who likes to experience things for yourself, by all means try this at home.

But if you’re someone who likes to learn from others mistakes you may want to be cautious about this.

I keep my pop in the garage. In the summer it’s in the fridge out there and in the winter I typically just set it in our unheated garage.

Well, on Saturday I was feeling a little thirsty for some of my beverage of choice….so I brought this can in, realizing that it was “bulging”.

I figured if I thaw it out it would be fine. I couldn’t set it in the upright position because of the “bulginess” of its contents, so I laid it beside my sink.

I was busily trying to prepare my pizza for dinner when I heard this gun shot noise go off right behind me. It was one of those moments where everything stops. All I could hear was a ringing in my left ear. I turned around to see Diet Coke Chunks and liquid sugar sprayed all over my entire kitchen. Up the walls, on the cabinets, across the floor and all over the counters. It was to my good fortune that it was laying sideways, because if it would have been pointing up it surely would have shot a hole right into the ceiling! As it was, the entire lid came pummeling across the width of my kitchen and hit the refrigerator. I am glad the children were not raiding the fridge at that precise moment! A metal can to the back of the head would be a bit painful, I suspect!

There was a positive element to the story….my kitchen got a major cleaning. With the help of J we had that mess cleaned up in about 15 minutes.

The funny thing is my 9 year old son, picked up the top of the lid, held it up and said, “hey mom….blog this….”

Nothing can happen around here anymore where the whole family doesn’t think, “that really should be made public knowledge”.

Sometimes it takes me a couple of days to get up the courage to share it, but I always seem to come around.

7 responses »

  1. LOL, real life in action! Funny story! My fam always rolls their eyes and says,”Great, this is gonna be on her blog…”

    Reply
  2. LOL! I could almost visualize that happening! What a mess that must have been. Eeek! I had a kitchen mishap like that once (it involved a smoothie shooting straight up all over my ceiling, walls, curtains, cabinets, etc). You just have to laugh because what else can you do??

    Reply
  3. ‘Reminds me of the woman who got “shot” in the back of the head by an exploding can of biscuits…urban legend or true story?

    Reply
  4. Too funny!!!!Sorry I haven’t got back with you on that picture, but yes, I used Picnik with it. That was the site I was using before but I was having trouble with it. All of a sudden it is working for me! I am hoping to get Photoshop for my birthday because I am looooving this whole photography thing (although I still have a lot to learn)!!!J

    Reply
  5. Great story Rose! I love it when I find my Diet Coke slushy from being in the garage, next time I will be more careful! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Hilarious! My husband enjoys a really cold soda as well so he will often take it out of the refrigerator and put it in the freezer only to forget that its there and next thing I know there is a huge explosion coming from my freezer. I am sure you already know what I find when I open the door. He does this quite often. It is so annoying.

    Reply
  7. Actually that is pretty scary to think someone could have gotten hit by that. I’m glad you weren’t injured.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

