RSS Feed

Winter Games and Food

Here it is Monday again, officially 2 full weeks until February.

I’m not gonna lie…..in Indiana…that’s a very good thing!

The children were off school on Friday and today as well, so it really feels like we are back on Christmas break, sans the cookies and presents.
We did do hot chocolate and we played fox and geese today.
I remember as a kid I could go for hours out in the white, powdery stuff.

I remember not being able to feel my toes and fingers so I would run them under water until feeling returned.

I remember fondly, building forts and making snow angels and snowmen. Great times! And yet, I have absolutely zero desire to even go out in the snow, let alone play in it.

It’s one of those things that I force myself to do out of a simple thing called …the joy of making my children smile!
Yep, that’s it. The smiles on their faces! I love to see that!
So after joining them for awhile today I told them I would make them some “snow cream”, as they like to call it.

Get some clean snow

1-fix n mix bowl

1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla

Use a big spoon or spatula and stir until evenly distributed.

Serve or add toppings.

mmmm…mmmm…Good!

I want to apologize for not getting this Cherry Cloud that I promised you in last week.

This is a light dessert(by light I do not mean low cal) that is one of our favorites. We had it for our Christmas eve dinner and I may serve it again for Valentine’s Dinner.

3 egg whites

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

3/4 C. sugar

Beat egg whites and cream of tartar until foamy(a long time). Beat in Sugar 1 T at a time. In meantime, cut large circles out of paper bag and place on a round pizza pan. Once mixture is fairly stiff, spread onto paper bag, making a a round shape with a spatula, mound up around the sides to create a “nest like” look. Bake 1 1/2 hours at 275. When finished, cool and carefully peel paper off back of shell.

Mix:

1 pkg(8oz) cream cheese

1/2 C. sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 C. Cool whip

mix cream cheese, sugar and vanilla together. Fold in cool whip. Spread mixture into center of shell. Top with can cherry pie filling.

8 responses »

  1. Hey, I remember eating snow cream as a kid too, soooo good! I am have made it for our kids, but we don’t get enough snow to gather up to make it, just a dusting today, and it’s already melted…

    Reply
  2. This looks like so much fun! No snow here! I’d love for you to join us for Tasty Tuesday with your post!-Kim

    Reply
  3. I got my fill of snow on our ski trip. So I don’t envy you that but I would like more days off of school. We’ll have to wait until hurricane warnings…should be sometime in August!Melanie@Bella~Mella

    Reply
  4. Hi…My tongue filled with water..Its really funny…. No snow here..

    Reply
  5. I’m jealous of your snow. When I was a little girl, we used to get BIG snows in TN. Now, it’s usually less than an inch (like today).

    Reply
  6. How about you send over a sample of that fluff stuff?? I’d like to try that out. 🙂

    Reply
  7. I wanted to thank you for dropping by to see me – I truly appreciate it. I wish you’d send some snow my way – we got a dusting, if you could call it that, yesterday and some flurries today – but I want to throw a snowball. And you children – absolutely precious – love those pictures as your header. Beautiful family. Blessings to you. Cathy

    Reply
  8. How fun! I haven’t ever heard of making snow cream. We have done maple snow before. It is a family tradition. Jeff’s family grew up in upstate New York, so they always had maple syrup and snow :). You just pour maple syrup all over a bowl of snow and eat it. Simple, but yummy :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

