RSS Feed

Bread and salad recipe

You ladies are so kind, so loving!

I love you back!

I want you to know that!

I guess I’ll keep the brown….ha!

Also,Thanks for your thoughts on what you would like to read on here.

One of you asked about the bread I mentioned in my my bread bowl and soup post.

I should have given you that recipe right away.
I found this “soft sandwich bun” recipe a number of years ago in a “quick cooking” magazine.
I use it quite frequently.
This is it:

1 1/4 C. Milk

1 egg beaten

2 Tbsp butter, softened

1/4 C. Sugar

3/4 tsp. salt

3 3/4 c. bread flour

1 1/4 tsp. yeast
In bread machine place first seven ingredients. Select dough setting. When cycle is completed turn dough onto lightly floured surface and punch down. Divide dough in half. Roll out and cut. Brush top with melted butter.Cover and let rise until double. Bake at 350 for 10-15 min

So for the bread bowls I simply pull it out of the machine kneading it a bit and divide into 6 equal balls. I let it rise for only about 15 minutes on top of the stove as the oven warms up.
Bake time is the same. So easy! Just cut out the middle once it’s baked.

Since I’m giving you recipes today anyway I’ll just give you this salad as well.

I started making this salad right around Christmas. I have made it a total of 6 times since then.
Translation: I REALLY like it! And its J’s favorite salad!
It’s called Romain Lettuce Salad:

1 head romaine lettuce chopped

1 head broccoli or cauliflower cut up

1 pkg ramen noodles, chicken flavor

1 c. pecans or almonds, sliced (optional)

Dressing:
1/2 C sugar
1/4 C vinegar
1/2 C. oil
1/2 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. salt
seasoning from noodles
Cut up romaine lettuce; add broccoli, or cauliflower. Brown broken-up Ramen noodles and pecans in butter; cool enough to add lettuce. To make dressing, heat the sugar and the vinegar enough to melt the sugar. Cool and add the rest of the ingredients. Add dressing to lettuce, just before serving.

YUMMO!

WE are anticipating some nasty weather…they keep telling us blizzard like conditions. Right now the sun is shining… so…. whatever! But we are hunkering down making sure we have lots of milk and bread. Maybe some hot soup and bread again tonight!

I wanted to show you this dessert…. I will post later this week.

If you heart cheese cake you will like this!


Happy Winter Days to you!

6 responses »

  1. ahhhh…just finished the Chicken Tortilla Soup that was on your blog a few weeks back. OHHHH MMYYYYY GOODNESS! It was so good. And the best part was the kids ate it too. So next I’ll try this bread recipe. Because seriously every recipe I get from you I love!!!But probably not the salad. No offense. Salad just gives me hives and makes me stop breathing. And that’s just when I smell it.

    Reply
  2. I will take the salad recipe!! And the bread recipe!! Thanks for taking the time and posting them! I agree with Heather….you post some wonderful recipes..you always were a hoot in the kitchen and “maybe” thats why you did the whole pampered chef thing.. 🙂 YOU WERE A FABULOUS CONSULTANT!! OOO yeah we are to have some mighty weather, just let us know when the food is ready and we will hike over with the snowmobiles!!Kathryn

    Reply
  3. You bring those fun snowmobiles and I’ll make the bread:)~We’ll have a winter party!I wondered which Kathryn you were….are you my neighbor???Or Kathryn that I did a party for “back in the day”?:)

    Reply
  4. No not your neighbor but your neighbors husbands name is the same as my husbands name… hee hee did you figure it out? Isn’t that amazing?! I wonder if they ever get phone calls for us like we get calls for them! Ironic!! Yes I was one of the first to host some of them excellent parties!! My hubs worked for your hubs and your hubs put in windows in my 105 year-old house! Winter party it is!:) Kathryn

    Reply
  5. I think I just drooled on my computer. That cheesecake looks heavenly! And the other recipes sounded so good!

    Reply
  6. I made your Romaine Lettuce Salad and it was a hit! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

