RSS Feed

Captivated by Him

Yesterday we celebrated Jesus at church.
We worshiped Jesus the servant king.

I am so captivated by the thought that this great and mighty one,
The almighty creator.
The one who flung the stars into space.
The one who said to the waters stop here and they did.
The one who rolled back the waters of the sea so his people would not drown.
The one who created heaven and earth.

He is the same one who took on flesh and became a helpless baby.

We hear this story so often that sometimes it’s kind of like “yeah, I know, cool”….
But really? Really?
That’s way more than cool!

You know what it does for me? It says “Nothing is really impossible for this King that I worship”.

These problems that seem so great to me really “aint a thing” to him!
Yeah, even the big issues. Even the mountains that are impossible for me to scale!
All this is so minimal to the one who made the mountain.

I am facing some of those mountains right now…
I am sure that God isn’t surprised that they feel like mountains to me. He knows me well.

One of the things J said yesterday in the message is “God gives us what we need not what we want”.
Excellent thought!

When Jesus came to earth the Jews knew what they wanted. They wanted someone to come and deliver them from the oppression of the Romans. They wanted a warrior that would strike their enemies dead.
But God knew what they needed.

They needed a Redeemer.

Oh, yes, that’s it!

I want someone to come and take this problem away.
I want to have everything fixed now.
I want to be blessed with all good things.
I want….I want…..I want….

And sometimes God chooses to give me these gifts. Sometimes he intervenes and moves the mountain.

But sometimes God knows this isn’t what I need.
In order to “grow me up” he chooses to give me what I need instead.

My response to him is this.
Lord, today in spite of my wants I desire you more. I am choosing to believe you. I know all things are possible for you. I know you have a plan for my life. A plan to give me hope and a future. To bring me good and not harm. I know I can trust you with my life. You are a good God and I am thankful to be your daughter.
Today I trust you my King!

7 responses »

  1. Very well said! I especially like, “God gives us what we need not what we want.”

    Reply
  2. Amen and Amen! Choosing character over comfort…

    Reply
  3. Very well put, Rose! It’s so great to have a God who specializes in what we think looks impossible!!Diane Y.

    Reply
  4. I REALLY needed this today…thanks for the reminder friend.Jamie

    Reply
  5. What a great post Rose! What an amazing God we serve! He is so big that He knows how many grains of sand there are on the seashores. He has such infinite knowledge that it is hard to fathom. Some times I lose sight of that, especially during hard times. Sometimes it is so hard to see past our circumstances. But God sees the big picture. I’m so thankful for His promises!

    Reply
  6. Wow! Very well written Rose! Have you ever read the book “Prison to Praise” by Merlin Coruthers (sp?) it is so good and has helped me in this area too. Sometimes it is so hard to trust when we are going through a tough time. I am learning to say “I praise you God for my current situation (whatever it may be) knowing that your plans for me are always for good and never for my harm, so I know that even though this situation is tough, I can praise You knowing it is all part of your perfect plan for my life.” You are such a neat, neat person Rose! I am sending you a big hug!

    Reply
  7. You are so stinkin’ inspiring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

