RSS Feed

"Mini Van Express"

So I told you we were going to try something new this year.

Let me just say it was a HUGE success!

Huge!

Our kids were so excited in the beginning and so grateful in the end!

I Got the idea over at Sandy Toes.

We changed just a couple things but this is what we did:

On Friday night when it was time for bed we put a “ticket” for the mini van express on our kids pillows. I also bought them each a new pair of warm flannel PJ’s. This was also placed on their pillows. We were playing games with them and afterwards told them to go check their pillows, change and come back down.

Since this was the first time we have done this they had no idea what was happening. They were giggling and squealling about the new PJ’s and “what in the world is this ticket for”?

“I wonder what we’re going to do?”
Daddy was the engineer who waited to punch their ticket. As they climbed into their seat there was a bag of party mix and a water bottle waiting for them.

“Where are we going”? Was the question they kept asking. And, “We’re leaving in our PJ’s?”

We turned on a Christmas CD. And told them to pay special attention to the all the cool lights.
One really neat thing that happened as we traveled into town. We passed our old home and the kids began talking about their memories from that house. Sophia had not yet been born but the others remembered really random things and it was so fun to hear them bringing those things to life again.

We drove into a subdivision to look at lights. And then we ended up at Dunkin Doughnuts for hot chocolate and Doughnuts. (The Chocolate was too hot so most of them decided to save it for breakfast:)

On the way home Sophie was falling asleep. Micah told her she better not cause if she misses her stop she may end up in Canada and then she would have to eat Canada Bacon….. They were so grateful they hugged and thanked us countless times and even in their prayers were thanking God for this night.

Such a little thing but I bet they don’t forget it!

I love that!

I love knowing that a small part of shaping took place as they felt special tonight!

I love that the wonder of Christmas was alive in the eyes of my kids!

What a wonderful time of the year!
9 responses »

  1. What a COOOOOOL idea…I’m totally stealing it.Have a beautiful Christmas!Jamie

    Reply
  2. I love that! I read the same thing at Sandy Toes and thought it was such a great idea. You’re kids looked thrilled!

    Reply
  3. That is so neat! You are such a good mamma!

    Reply
  4. I’m stealing this too. So there :)I love the photos and the feeling behind them. Thank you!

    Reply
  5. I love this idea, I think I just might steal it! Also, thanks for the awesome carmels!! Nelson doesn’t normally like carmels but he loved these! Diane Yutzy

    Reply
  6. So much fun! I saw this idea over at Sandy’s, too, and I told my hubby we are going to implement it next year. And if I tell him that Dunkin Donuts will be the final stop, he’ll be as excited as Savannah. 🙂

    Reply
  7. How fun is that?! It is neat to see that even the older kids are so excited! I may have to steal this one also.I love the Canada bacon quote. Made me laugh!!Have a very Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  8. That is such a neat idea and something that Mom & Dad would never do on any other day! That's why it's so great to do things like that because it's just not the ordinary, but just a little crazy! Really….I can go to Dunkin Donuts w/PJ's! Cool! You rock!Hope you had a good Christmas!

    Reply
  9. I love it! That is such a fun idea! Your kids looked like they had a blast too :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

