RSS Feed

Hanging out with rash boy…

You know what I’ve been doing today? I’ve been hanging out with “rash boy” for the 4th straight day in a row! We have been having a party! Well, other then the itching….and me trying to not freak out on him….Because you know I can just go to all kinds of places in my mind….

He is so much better but we are keeping him home from school until he looks a little more normal. The “stuff” seems to be working…Now his eye is swollen and that’s kind of creeping me out….The Doc says it’s okay so I’m going with that.

Yesterday we spent some great time together just he and I and today we worked in the kitchen. I was canning chicken thanks to my friend Rolanda’s inspiration. She told me she canned a bunch of chicken this year. When I came across 40 pounds of chicken for $1.37 per pound I snatched it up and am doing a little chicken canning of my own.

I’m feeling a little bit like a squirrel…storing up food for the winter.

It felt so good to see all those cans of chicken. 20 pints and 10 quarts plus some extra I’m cooking for dinner! I have all sorts of wonderful chicken recipes dancing through my head…

I’ve also had this smell in my kitchen the last couple of days and I knew it was time…

Smelly banana’s = Banana bread

So we got busy. “Rash boy” thought it might be fun to make muffins with some of the batter and add chocolate chips. Great idea! Chocolate + Anything = Delicious!
Do you need a great recipe for banana bread? I got this one from a friend in Louisville, Kentucky when we lived there 12 years ago. My kids just eat this stuff up…Especially the “no nuts” batch.

The nuts are for me. I love them,Oh, how I love them~

1 Cup butter softened

3 Cup Sugar

4 eggs

1/4 Cup yogurt

6 mashed ripe bananas

2 tsp vanilla

3 Cup flour

1 1/2 tsp. soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 Cup chopped pecans

Cream butter, sugar and eggs. Add Yogurt and banana’s .Combine flour, soda, and salt. Add dry ingredients to sugar mixture. Fold in nuts. Bake at 325 in two greased bread loaf pans for about 1 1/2 hours. Check it at 75 minutes.

If you come back tomorrow I may have some new dance moves for you…

5 responses »

  1. Poor poor rash boy. 😦 I have also canned chicken in the past. Inspired by an Amish neighbor. And while it is a mess and pain to can…it is so handy to have. You will love it. Where did you get the chicken at such a good price?

    Reply
  2. Actually Heather it was SOOO easy!These were boneless skinless breasts….I just cut them in huge pieces and stuffed them in the jar. Filled the jar 3/4 way and sprinkled salt on top. I screwed the lids on and pressure cooked them for about 45 minutes. I didn’t realize it would be so easy.

    Reply
  3. Why is canning better than freezing? That seems really weird to see those jars of chicken-ness… 🙂

    Reply
  4. Carrie I usually freeze it too…I often buy canned chicken for easy peasy meals…no thawing, the broth is right there, pop it right into my casserole or chicken salad. I hope I’ll like it. I think I will.

    Reply
  5. Wow, you go girl! Look at all that you are doing! I was like that in the fall. I told my hubby that I was going through some kind of weird nesting phase :). I felt this huge need to can and freeze everything I could find. I used to can chickens and venison, but had too much trouble with them coming unsealed! Do you have that trouble? I don’t have trouble with other stuff I can, just meat for some reason.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

