RSS Feed

Christmas Carmel’s

I have been greatly privileged to have a mother that loved Christmas. If she didn’t love it she was a great actor! But my sense is that she really did enjoy making traditions for us as children. Some of those traditions I have kept on practicing with my children. One of those is Carmel Candy. Every year we could expect that my mom and grandma would make loads of candies and cookies. And we would stuff our faces and bellies until we were sick.
I still make Carmel’s every year. And today I wanted to share the recipe with you:
This is all you need.

1 stick of butter

2 cups of heavy cream

2 cups of sugar

3/4 cup corn syrup

Combine sugar, corn syrup, butter and half the cream in large saucepan. Heat to boiling over medium heat stirring constantly. Add rest of cream… stirring occasionally till it reaches 245 on candy thermometer. It takes about 20 minutes to cook. When it reaches the right temp. using your scraper, pour into a 9×13 inch pan.When this cools completely cut into bite size pieces. We roll them up in squares of wax paper and twist the ends to secure them.

These make fabulous gifts (if you have any left)

Happy snacking!

9 responses »

  1. This could be my FAVORITE Christmas treat! We call it Perry Candy because my Great Uncle Perry loved it so much!

    Reply
  2. These look super yummy! These holiday traditions are a wonderful thing your children will remember!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for commenting on my bogs! The Do TeLL Blog is one I will be updating soon as a “tie-in” to an upcoming Christian TV project I am involved in.I’ll post about it on Bella~Mella should anyone be interested in checking it out!The Carmel recipe reminds me of the caramel glaze I put on my apple cakes. Yum, yum. What a great idea for a gift.And you’re children are beautiful…love the newsboy hat on your girl.Please stop back by Bella~Mella in a few days. I’m posting on Christmas aprons and inviting other bloggers w/apron love to play along!

    Reply
  4. Does the 13 x 9 pan need greased before becoming a mold for the hot, sticky carmel?I’m assuming it does.

    Reply
  5. actually i don’t but you could. The carmels are usually so buttery that i don’t have a problem. I do use a baking stone tho….

    Reply
  6. These sound amazing…and dangerous. If I made a batch of these, I can guarantee you there would not be many left to give away. 🙂

    Reply
  7. WOW, I thought sure I would get to the end of the post, and there would be a give away or something. NOPE. Just a cute little picture. Well thanks for the recipe….can’t wait to try it.

    Reply
  8. I love carmels!. I made them for several years, and am going to make them this year too. Your recipe sounds a lot easier than mine. I will have to try that! One bad thing is if you get the hot carmel on your fingers. I did that one year when I was transferring it to a pan, and it basically stuck on my finger and burned like mad…OUCH!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

