RSS Feed

Speechless

Today I am speechless. No I’m serious, I am not speaking above a whisper!

Can I just say that if I am ever tortured I just hope they don’t cut out my tongue and let me live!
Have you ever thought about how much you use your voice?

Saturday evening I felt something grab onto my throat. I looked at Jason and said “Oh No, I think I’m getting sick”!

By Sunday morning it hurt horribly, But….

I was still able to lead worship…truly miraculous!

By Sunday evening….just above a whisper.

And today— Speechless!

It’s kind of funny because my family all thinks they need to whisper back!

I needed groceries, at least if my children were going to eat lunch this week, so I ran to the store. I usually go to this store and know no one but today??? 4! Oh yes, 4 friends to talk to today!
Isn’t that hysterical?!

I have been avoiding my phone today too…(Sorry Brooke but thank you for the depth of your sympathy!)

So guess what was on the menu tonight? Yep, Chicken noodle Soup. Best thing for a cold you know! Plus it seems like a soupy kind of day.
Sneaky me fries up some Very FINELY chopped onions in some EVOO. They give the soup a better flavor! And nobody noticed!

Then I put these in a stockpot with 2 small cans Chicken Broth. Add 4 Cups of Water.
I chopped up 12 baby carrots.It makes me feel better.(It gives it some crunch too) Add 1 tablespoon Chicken Flavored Soup base, 1 tablespoon but-ta, and 1 chicken breast chopped.

When this comes to a boil I put in about 2 cups of noodles. Boil about 10 minutes till ready to serve.

Biscuits are yumm-o (I don’t know why I think I have to talk like Rachel Ray simply because I’m describing my recipe!) with soup so Sophie and I whipped up some.
She said” You be cook 1 and I’ll be cook 2″. Here is the cook cutting out the biscuits. She LOVES to help in the kitchen. I think she is the only one who begs to help in the kitchen.
With any job too…
Bless your heart you cute little cook 2!

And here is the result…

I want to tell you a little secret I like to do. On Monday morning I like to put a whole bag of frozen Chicken Breasts in my crock-pot. I put about a ½ cup of water in the bottom and shake the living daylights out of my salt shaker over the chicken. I turn the thing on high and by evening I have chicken for the week.

Last week I made Chicken tortilla soup, (a recipe that originated from Kim)


Here is the Recipe: (I added a couple of things)
4 chicken breast
1 garlic clove
2 T butter
2 14.5 oz. can chicken broth
2 14.5 oz. can black beans
2 14 5oz. can chopped tomato’s
2 cans whole kernel corn
1 TBSP taco seasoning
1 C. salsa
1/2 c. fresh or 1/4 c. dried cilantro
1 T. Ground cumin
8 oz Cheddar Jack cheese
Sour cream
tortilla chips
Cook Chicken, saute garlic and onion in TBSP oil,
Combine all ingredients into slow cooker except cheese, sour cream and chips.
Cook on low 8 hours. Ladle soup over cubed cheese. Sprinkle with chips and sour cream.
It’s Awesome! And we had enough left for another quick microwave lunch later in the week.

One night we had Chicken Stir fry. (what we call missionary night for the kids; which basically means we tell them if they grow up and are called to the mission field they need to be willing to try all kinds of food and this will be mild compared to that…Come to think of it …I hope we aren’t turning them off on foreign missions! “Please don’t send me to Africa”!)

And another night I used the cut up chicken for chicken and noodles over mashed potatoes (my kids favorite)

Sometimes I use it for Chicken fajitas( I just cut up the chicken , put back in crock-pot, sprinkle taco seasoning over it, turn on low for a couple of hours and it becomes moist, tender, fajita meat. I also do this for enchilada casseroles)

This week I think I will use it for Cheesy Chicken Croissants and another night Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole.

It does a number of things for me:

  • It helps me plan my meals before 5 o’clock
  • It helps so much in my food prep
  • I think it tastes better then canned chicken
  • Definitely cheaper then canned chicken

What are some quick dinner secrets you have?
(frozen dinners or Taco Bell don’t count!J)

8 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear you are sick! But LOVE the recipes! Good ideas!! Feel better soon! (I am the same way, as soon as I run to Target in a city where I know very few people, without showering, I run into someone! How does that happen!) 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m replying in a whisper. 🙂 Love the chicken breast idea! I prefer making dishes with chicken anyway, and it seems I’m always opening a can of chicken. $$$

    Reply
  3. Rose, great idea about the chicken! I want to copy everything you do… I love to fry up hamburger to have on hand. Sometimes I will even freeze 1 lb. portions with or without taco seasoning. We tend to like the mexican dishes.

    Reply
  4. Hi Rose,New to your blog, just leaving a comment to let you know I stopped by. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Reply
  5. What a great idea for the chicken! As a working mom, any little thing that helps evening and supper go quicker. All of the recipes look super yummy! I will definitely try them

    Reply
  6. You poor thing!!!! I hope you get your voice back by tomorrow night! The chicken in the crock pot thing is a great idea!!!!

    Reply
  7. Thanks for coming and visiting me. I enjoyed looking through your blog and now I am hungry from seeing all of your delicious recipes! What a great idea about putting the chicken in the crock pot. I’ve started cooking all my chicken and then freezing it. I mark on the bag what dish it is for and it has saved so much time. I will have to try that.P.S. Italy is where I want to go too!

    Reply
  8. Probably more people would hope that I could only whisper…ha! Great dinner ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

