RSS Feed

The Pretzel

I was just hoping you’d ask!

I have been making this for almost 15 years and believe me it will not disappoint!!

1 1/2 C. Warm water
1 1/8 T yeast
dissolve these together in a separate bowl
2 T. Brown Sugar
1/2 t. salt
1 C. bread flour
3 1/2 C. Regular flour
I just dump these last 4 ingredients into my mixer and mix well. Add the warm water. Mix again.
Cover and let rise 1/2 hour.
When done rising take small amount of dough and shape into pretzels.(if the dough is a little sticky just use a little flour.
Boil 2 C. Water with 2 T. Baking Soda
Dip pretzels in water mixture
Bake at 450 for 6-8 minutes.
Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with kosher salt.

This amount usually makes 2 pans.
We like to dip it in cheese sauce, cream cheese, or mustard.

This is so much fun to do for parties. Especially if children are involved. They love to shape the dough into all kinds of shapes. Their initials, airplanes,crosses,flowers; just use your imaginations….

Happy Baking and Eating!

I’m always up for new ideas so…

What are some traditions you do with your kids?

8 responses »

  1. Oh, that sounds so good! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Can’t wait to try them!!! Looks so good. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Reply
  3. yummy! Now I have something to think about on our flight Down Under. What are our family traditions?

    Reply
  4. During the spring, summer and fall months on a weekend night, weather permitting, we will build a fire at our firepit. Some nights we will roast hot dogs and other nights we will have smores and some nights just sit and enjoy the fire and outside noises.The boys seem to enjoy it and so do we. It is outside away from the TV and computer!

    Reply
  5. I am enjoying this blogging thing. I did it mainly to keep family up to date on what is going on with the boys, however I love to see what other families are also doing!Love the pictures from the Sunday marathon! I have found with blogging I am taking many more pictures to add them to the blog!God Bless

    Reply
  6. I do love blogging, however, I do not have as much time as I would like to put into it. I love all the pictures on your blog! And, your pretzel looks yum-o! Hope to talk with you again soon!

    Reply
  7. THANK YOU! That picture makes me drool! :)I’m off to get some yeast and bread flour…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

