RSS Feed

Where is my hope?

Is it just me or is anybody else weary to the core of this election cycle? I will admit sometimes all I hear is “blah, blah, blah”.

I do think there is much at stake here. Yet it seems like both sides feel equally as strong on their position. Somehow it seems like one of the more polarizing elections. Even dividing some Christian circles.

I have been thinking…

Here are my thoughts:

Do I really believe that either candidate is going to fix the real problems with our country(world)?

Do I really believe that hope lies within a man?

Do I really want to see God move in this nation even if it is uncomfortable for me?

Am I so worried about my own self that I have forgotten that this may be an opportunity to pour the hope of our Savior into another’s life?

How am I prepared to be the light I have heard about since womb life?

On November 4, I will go, and vote my convictions but that isn’t the real solution at all. No matter who is elected,

Our God still Reigns.

He is the hope to the nations.

He is the one who sits in heaven with earth as is his footstool.

He will not sit wringing his hands wondering what to do next.

My trust is not in what I have or hope to have. They can take everything from me but they can’t take my hope, or my reward, it isn’t here anyway!

We have had life pretty posh. Maybe now is the time when we can actually practice the Faith, and Trust, that we’ve heard all these years. This is the moment we can choose to let the peace of God fill and rule our hearts and minds.
This hymn was on my lips today.

When Peace like a river attendeth my way

When sorrows like sea billows roll

Whatever my lot, thou has taught me to say

It is well, it is well with my soul.

It is well, with my soul

It is well, it is well with my soul!

And Lord haste the day

When my faith shall be sight

The clouds be rolled back as a scroll

The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend

Even so it is well, it is well with my soul

It is well, with my soul

It is well, it is well with my soul.

7 responses »

  1. Rose, thanks for the upbeat comments about the election coming up, and Norm keeps reminding me that we will all need to “hope” in God even when things don’t go well.

    Reply
  2. You are so right, Rose. Why are we hoping that one of the candidates has the answer when we know who ultimately is in charge anyway? Thanks for the post!

    Reply
  3. Hello, I just wanted to add my Amen! God is not going to lose control because president so and so has just moved into the White House! When Pharaoh was in charge God still used Him to accomplish His purpose!

    Reply
  4. Hey Rose, What an encouraging post. It puts it all in prospective!!Donovan is so passionate about poltics and the election (I concern myself little with it except for what he tells me)…it carries over into our children. William (the 4 year old) asked his little friend last week….”Do you like McCain or Obama? Now Hmmmm??? Do you think we talk about it a little too much or what?? Love the music addition and new picture to your blog. And gee by the way do you like how I copied some of your 8 things???

    Reply
  5. Hi Rose, Thanks for coming over and saying hi.How do people live who don’t have the hope that we do? I’m so thankful this life is not about me!(Your children are beautiful!)

    Reply
  6. I hear blah blah blah and then peace like a river too. Lovely post 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

