RSS Feed

Apple Pie It’s Comfort Food

Today I felt like Susie home maker….

I made yummy Sour Cream Apple Pie

I don’t like to make this very often because although my intentions are good, my need to taste test the pie kicks in and I eat more then my share before I serve my family. It is a real downfall and needs to be stopped! Oh, you mean someone ate 1/4 of the pie? Really?

Here is the recipe if you are stronger then I.
2 eggs

1 C sour cream

1 C sugar

10 Tbsp flour/divided

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

3 C peeled and chopped apples

3 Tbsp butter – melted

1/4 C brown sugar

1 unbaked pie shell
Beat eggs. Add sour cream. Stir in sugar, 2 TBSP flour, vanilla, and salt, mix well. Stir in apples. Pour into pie shell. Bake at 375 for 15 minutes. Meanwhile combine butter, 8 Tbsp flour and brown sugar. Sprinkle on top of pie. Return to oven for 20-25 minutes or until filling is set. Left overs should be Refrigerated.

I’m not going to tell you what my plan is for breakfast!

In case you are clickin your tongue that I am not feeding these kids a healthy, well balanced meal I did serve a Mexican Special recipe I got from my friend Kim(family of 5). You can link over there to her site from the side bar.

What are some of your comfort foods?

5 responses »

  1. ooh, yours looks so much better than mine! They don't like the tomatoes & onions on theirs…

    Reply
  2. Kim- don’t let this fool you…It was strictly for photography:)Rose

    Reply
  3. this pie looks absolutely scrumptious!!thanks for visiting my blog :)))

    Reply
  4. Yummmm! I so want to come over for dinner! My hubby is out of town so it was easy mac for the kids and chips and salsa for me last night! pretty slim pickin’s around here!!!

    Reply
  5. Well looks really good except for the tomatoes and onions. Gesh…I’m as picky as Kim’s kids. By the way Susie Homemaker Can we come for dinner??? My comfort food would be anything with mashed potatoes. 🙂 At first when I saw the pie, I was thinking it was from the youth fundraiser….and you were feeling like Susie homemaker because you “baked” it. Well then I read on and you actually went all out and did crust and everything. You do get the award for Susie. P.S. You know what I love??….everytime I come to your blog you got something new! WOW!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

